Sungai Lembing tin mining began in ancient times which historical recorded start from 15th – 19th century. Now a day it’s open to public for understanding the history for Tin Mining in Malaysia. Sungai Lembing Tin mine tunnel was recorded with length of 322KM, depths of 700M and it’s over 23 level.
|DEPARTURE LOCATION||Kuala Lumpur|
|DEPARTURE TIME||Please wait at hotel lobby at 06:00 AM. Pickup only at golden triangle area (Chinatown / Bukit Bintang / KLCC) out of area additional RM15 per group for pick up|
|RETURN TIME||By evening around 5PM arrive at your hotel (Depend traffic condition)|
|WEAR||Wearing casual with sport shoe, bring extra changing cloths, bring swim suit|
|Kuala Lumpur Tour||Explore Countryside|
(Minimum 2 Adult)
06.00 am Pick up from major hotel at Kuala Lumpur area.
10.30 am Arrive at Sungai lembing and proceed for
Visit Golden Dragon Temple, visit tin mine museum, and visit Tin mine tunnel
12.30 pm Lunch at local restaurant (Own expenses)
01.00 pm Transfer to Pandan Waterfall
01.30 pm One hours stop at Pandan Waterfall, you’re allow to swim if water level is safe
02:30 pm Transfer back to Kuala Lumpur and estimated arrive by 6PM – 6.30PM
A trip into ancient tin mine town – Sungai Lembing, understand the began of tin mine in Malaysia and experience walk-into tin mine tunnel
Sungai Lembing is a tin mining town in Kuantan District, Pahang, Malaysia. Lembing is Malay for spear, and “sungai” means river. Per local legend, the local ruler saw a vision of a spear in the nearby river and thus named his town after this vision.
Until the 1860s, Sungai Lembing was a major producer of underground tin. Sungai Lembing town developed in the 1880s when the British set up the tin mining industry, although the history of mining in this area extends much further back. From 1891, the Pahang Consolidated Company Limited, (PCCL), which was under British control, had a 120 -year lease to mine the area. PCCL managed the mine from 1906 until its liquidation in 1986 when world tin prices collapsed.
The pit mines were closed in 1986 due to high operational costs and low yields, but during their heyday they were among the largest and deepest in the world. The total tunnel length is 322 km, with a depth of 700 m. A museum highlighting the tin mining industry was opened in 2003. The museum is housed in an old bungalow once used by the mine manager. The museum houses a collection of mining artifacts.